The city is located in the northeast of the county, in the depression of the same name, at an altitude of 580-600 m, in the Argeș Musceles, at the foot of the Iezer Mountains, on the banks of the Târgului River. The city is crossed by the national road DN73, which connects Piteștiul to Brașov, being at a distance of 52 km from Pitești and 84 km from Brașov. At Câmpulung, from this road the county road DJ737 branches, which leads southeast to Mioarele and Boteni (where it ends in DN73D); county road DJ734, which leads north to Lerești; and the DJ732C county road, which leads west to Bughea de Jos, Godeni (where it intersects with DN73C) and Schitu Golești (where it ends in DN73). On the railway, the city has the stations Campulung and Krețulescu Park, the last being the end of a railway line that leads south to Golești, where it joins the Bucharest-Pitești railway.
|Area (km2)||11,7 km²|
Culture and history info
Over 100 places in the city are classified as historical monuments. 39 of them are classified as historical monuments of national interest. One is the archeological site representing the northern sector of the Transalutian Lime - an ensemble made up of the Jidava earth quarry, the Jidava stone quarry (end of the 2nd century - first half of the 3rd century e.n.) and a fortification of the earth.
Fifteen others are classified as historical architectural monuments: the church "Sf. Emperors ”-Tubesti (1779); the church "Sf. Nicolae "," Sf. Mc. Mina ”-Nicuț (1708); the church "Sf. Gheorghe "," Sf. Apostles ”-Visoi (1774); the church "The Assumption of the Virgin Mary" -Flamânda (1940); the ensemble of the villa Elie Mirea (circa 20th century) - ensemble consisting of the villa itself and the park -; "Carol I" Normal School, today Pedagogical High School (1895); the church "Sf. Gheorghe ”-Olari (first half of the 17th century); the church "Assumption of the Virgin Mary" -Fundeni (18th century); Negru Voda Monastery (14th-19th centuries) - an ensemble made up of the royal church "The Assumption of the Virgin Mary" (14th century, rebuilt in the 17th century), the church of the sick "Birth of St. John the Baptist. "(1718), the Egyptian house (1635), the royal / archery house (1301-1900), the bell tower (1647), the chilies (14th-19th centuries), a fountain (early 20th century) ), the precinct wall of the church (14th-19th centuries) and the precinct wall of the monastery (1712) -; the whole of the Catholic Church "Sf. Iacob ”- Bareaca (13th-18th centuries) - ensemble made up of the Catholic Church“ Sf. Iacob cel Mare "(the choir of the first gothic church), the ruins of the nave of the first gothic church (13th century), the parish house (17th century), the annex buildings, the bell tower (1730) and the enclosure wall -; the church "Sf. The Marina ”(14th-17th centuries); villa Ghiță Ștefănescu, today the Ethnography Museum (1735, rebuilt in 1928); the whole church "Sf. Nicolae ”-Domneasca (16th century, rebuilt in 1860-1861) - an ensemble made up of the church itself, the parish house (end of the 19th century) and the precinct -; and the whole church "Sf. Ilie "(1626) - ensemble composed of the church" Sf. Ilie ”(1626) and the site of the former cemetery (17th-19th centuries).
The historical center is also classified as a historical architectural monument.
On the territory of the city there are twenty-two stone crosses, all classified as memorial or funerary monuments of national interest, dating from 1593 to 1790, plus a twenty-third such monument represented by the fountain of the Russian general Minciaky (1835).
Unfortunately no tours were found.
Unfortunately no cruises were found.
Unfortunately no car rentals were found.